God Is Working In Me, So Should I

​”Only take care, and keep your soul diligently, lest you forget the things that your eyes have seen, and lest they depart from your heart all the days of your life…”

Deuteronomy 4:9 ESV

Sometimes, when busyness of life gets to us, we tend to forget our priorities and neglect the things that really matter – those that impact eternity. 

It has been 2 weeks since I last read my Bible thoughtfully and had quiet time. Recalling what I heard from the seminar when we accompanied my cousin to his baptism yesterday that deeply struck me was that no amount of going to church, attending small group, doing good deeds and serving in ministry can take the place of spending time with God reading the Bible and meditating on His words. Truly, it is so confusing having to feel lost not being able to find quality time with the Lord. The thought of Him always there for us but we are not because the world asks too much from us. Nevertheless, it is a sickening feeling of guilt that it is only our leftover time which we offer to God. However, this passage provides a word of caution to take care and keep our soul diligently so as not to forget how Jesus saved us and how He will continue to do so while we are in the faith.

This gets me to thinking that while God gives sufficient grace and mercy, I should do my part of looking after what I can control to grow in my faith. Balancing my time is very difficult, so I should fight for it making no excuses. His word is in itself a protection for me not to go astray and believe the lies of the enemy. As I come to this realization, I’m thankful for the Lord that He is faithful and very patient with me, allowing me to see my life and its brokenness which needs transformation. Blessed that I’m, Jesus is so true to His promise that He will perfect my faith as He continues the work in me. ❤❤❤

Soli Deo Gloria!

– Rhia

PS:

As I was finishing up this reflection on a Sunday ministry work, we the combined volunteers from LiveProd and Exalt ministries had a short devotion while waiting for the next service. It was amazing that we reflected on the story of Martha and Mary (Luke 10:38-42). What God is telling me could not be clearer than this. That is for me to learn how to prioritize my spiritual health and make a better choices spending my time and attention. 😇

Leave a Reply

