Wait On The Lord For Answer

​So Moses told the people of Israel that they should keep the Passover. And they kept the Passover in the first month, on the fourteenth day of the month, at twilight, in the wilderness of Sinai; according to all that the Lord commanded Moses, so the people of Israel did. And there were certain men who were unclean through touching a dead body, so that they could not keep the Passover on that day, and they came before Moses and Aaron on that day. And those men said to him, “We are unclean through touching a dead body. Why are we kept from bringing the Lord’s offering at its appointed time among the people of Israel?” And Moses said to them, “Wait, that I may hear what the Lord will command concerning you.”

Numbers 9:4‭-‬8 ESV

This passage is a good reminder how to react when we face situations where we are not certain on what to do. Here, Moses did not just come up with answer right away, he waited on the Lord for answer. 

I admit I have a tendency on making decisions without first consulting God. As a young follower of Christ, I really want to develop the attitude of deferring to God for all decision-making. At times, I find myself so focused on thinking what to do forgetting that I’m just a prayer away to the One who fully knows what was, is and is to come. There are even times that I let my feelings and emotion lead my choices. This I believe are not reliable indicators and may be sometimes problematic. Often, I make actions in anger which I later regret and does not glorify God. 

Nevertheless, this passage is on point speaking to me that no too small or big decisions for the Lord not to be concerned about. Afterall, He saved me from the punishment of my sins and died on the cross for me, that’s how concerned Jesus is with me. I just need to be always reminded that every time I face decision whether difficult or easy, I need to pause for a while, with humility ask the Lord and wait for what He has to say. That in all things I do, He must be the Lord and be glorified.

Soli Deo Gloria!

-Rhia

Leave a Reply

