Leviticus And What It Means To Me

I’m now reading the book of Leviticus. Honestly, I’m not as enthusiastic reading this as with Genesis and Exodus merely because much of I’m reading are about Jewish laws on rituals and purity which non-Jews do not observe. I do not see how I can apply these laws to my life since I know that Jesus already fulfilled these for me when I accepted Him as my Lord and personal Saviour. But I have to find what God is telling me on this book. Then suddenly it hit me, Leviticus is painting a picture of a holy God. These laws were instructed by God because He is holy, He wanted to dwell with His people but the Israelites were not holy because of sin, thus any personal encounter would prove to be deadly for His people. God is very loving that He did not want to cause harm to those who desired relationship with Him. Therefore, these laws were ways for the Israelites to know whether they were clean enough to witness God’s glory at the tabernacle, the place where God dwelt.

Furthermore, this affirms that God is always been the Initiator. Israelites did not need to make their own laws to please God. God gave all the instructions and guidelines, they just needed to follow and obey. There is nothing we can do to outdo God with our efforts because He is so awesome that He can plan and do marvels for us, we just need to be His willing accomplice.

Finally, a question which lingered in my mind. If God can do everything, why He can not just make us holy to be with Him so it will be more convenient? This may be one of the common questions of humans. Again, I think the answer lies on His character, God being so loving yet holy and just. A just God cannot let sin go unpunished, that He exercised His justice through His mercy the reason why He sent Jesus to die for our sins. I also believe that the story of Jesus gives gravity to God’s love for us. We have given free will and ever since the fall, we have struggled with the consequences of our choices. Now we know that the only way to experience life is to choose Jesus and the perfect will of God. There is never really good option other than obeying God and live a holy life for Him.

Soli Deo Gloria!

-Rhia

Leave a Reply

