When God Commands, He Directs And Equips

​The Lord said to Moses, “See, I have called by name Bezalel the son of Uri, son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah, and I have filled him with the Spirit of God, with ability and intelligence, with knowledge and all craftsmanship, to devise artistic designs, to work in gold, silver, and bronze, in cutting stones for setting, and in carving wood, to work in every craft. And behold, I have appointed with him Oholiab, the son of Ahisamach, of the tribe of Dan. And I have given to all able men ability, that they may make all that I have commanded you:

Exodus 31:1‭-‬6 ESV

This passage is part of the book of Exodus when God gave instructions to Moses on how to build the tabernacle and its furnitures. The instructions were so detailed that as a reader sometimes I feel it is very difficult to follow and absorb what I am reading. Then I came across with Oholiab and Bezalel being appointed as workers. So far in this chapter, there are no background on the lives of these two other than God giving them that ability to construct the tabernacle and their paternal and tribal lineage. Yet, this allowed me to reflect on God and how He works with His people.

First, aside from giving detailed instruction, He also pointed Moses to the right people. I just could not imagine how long it will take Moses to find these people if God provided only their names without the familial background. There were 600,000 men who left Egypt during exodus, adding the wives and children the population of Israelites may be somewhere close to 2 millions. Locating 2 people sure be daunting task if God had not given more information.

Second, it is amazing how He equiped the people He called to do what He commanded. Not only He filled them with ability, intelligence, knowledge and all craftsmanship but also with His Spirit. How a person would not succeed if he has all these things given by God?

Learning all these thru the passage, motivates me to cooperate and follow what He is asking me to do. I know that His directions will be clear for me to understand and He will provide the abilities I need to carry out His will as His presence will also be upon me.

As with my effort to read the Bible from cover-to-cover this year, it still fascinates me everyday how I am able to write my reflections during my quiet time, let alone prioritize quiet time as I start and end my days. All I know is that none of this is possible if God would not have given me the wisdom and eagerness to know Him thru the Scripture which allows me to honor Christ thru it. Thank You Lord!!! ❤❤❤

Soli Deo Gloria!

-Rhia

Leave a Reply

