Tithing: Do Not Delay

​”You shall not delay to offer from the fullness of your harvest and from the outflow of your presses. The firstborn of your sons you shall give to me. You shall do the same with your oxen and with your sheep: seven days it shall be with its mother; on the eighth day you shall give it to me.

Exodus 22:29‭-‬30 ESV

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the way I give my tithes. From middle to late last year, I seemed to struggle with tithing because I feel that I prioritized other spendings over giving what was rightful to God. Every time I had to buy costly meal the money never ran out but when I was about to be in front of the tithe box I was pleading that I did not have not enough to give. There were some instances that I reasoned to God that I cannot give what I normally give because of too many expenses I incurred. What used to be a happy one full tithing every month became a tithing of whatever was left in my wallet. The real problem was, I was not really struggling financially or anything near that I had to borrow money, I was just plainly being selfish withholding what was God’s and scared not making any savings. Selfishness ruled over me.

I think this is God’s answer to my prayer for Him to direct me to His path, that I should get into my old way of tithing in full without delay, giving the firstfruit of my labor. Let my happiness of offering Him my tithes be greater than my worries of my savings. Afterall, God is faithful and He never fails to provide.

Soli Deo Gloria!

-Rhia

Leave a Reply

