Grumbling Against The Lord

​And Moses said, “When the Lord gives you in the evening meat to eat and in the morning bread to the full, because the Lord has heard your grumbling that you grumble against him—what are we? Your grumbling is not against us but against the Lord.”

Exodus 16:8 ESV

I could not just help myself not to write about this passage because it carries yet another profound meaning to me. The Israelites whom God just redeemed from slavery started to grumble against Moses. Being so gracious as He is, God responded to their grumblings with provisions. If God is so attentive to grumblings, what more to a humble prayer coming from heart?

This also brings memories of me when I was still complaining too much at almost everything. That was when I hadn’t yet fully believed and knew Christ. But after I did, one of the first things that Jesus worked in me was my grumbling. Now, I do not like grumbling because I know that it grieves God and I do not want to challenge His sovereignty. I’m now more compelled to bring my concerns to God thru prayer rather than grumbling which the Lord does not deserve but only highest praise and worship.

Soli Deo Gloria!

-Rhia

Leave a Reply

