Worship

And Leah conceived and bore a son, and she called his name Reuben, for she said, “Because the Lord has looked upon my affliction; for now my husband will love me.” She conceived again and bore a son, and said, “Because the Lord has heard that I am hated, he has given me this son also.” And she called his name Simeon. Again she conceived and bore a son, and said, “Now this time my husband will be attached to me, because I have borne him three sons.” Therefore his name was called Levi. And she conceived again and bore a son, and said, “This time I will praise the Lord.” Therefore she called his name Judah. Then she ceased bearing.

-Genesis 29:32‭-‬35 ESV

As I read the passage, I noticed that the naming of Reuben, Simeon and Levi focused on the desire of Leah to finally be loved by Jacob. I would say that Jacob’s affection was an idol to Leah. However, with her 4th son, she focused on praising God alone as she named her son Judah. Looking how the lives of Jacob’s children turned out, Judah received the blessing from Jacob and became the head of the household. For me, this affirms that when we offer the things we do for the Lord as form of our worship to Him, He is faithful to acknowledge them and make them prosper. And worship in spite of rejection from this world is a welcome and pleasing aroma to our Lord our God. Worshiping God keeps us away from idolatry because our focus is on God. So my prayer is for Jesus to give us a heart that consistently worship God in everything we do regardless of our situations.

Soli Deo Gloria!

-Rhia

Leave a Reply

